Hide other sections
« Back to news list
Nine School Board Members Earn Master Board Member Status

 Sharon Brown, McMinn County Schools
Sharon Brown, McMinn County Schools
Related Documents:
Press Release


 Nashville, Tennessee - During its annual convention, the Tennessee School Boards Association (TSBA) recognized five school board members who earned master board member status. To encourage professional growth of school board members, TSBA offers a master school board member award to members who invest their time and effort into becoming more informed and more effective school board members. The award is given for participation in activities outside of local school board obligations. 

There are five levels of recognition in the TSBA Boardsmanship Award Program. Level V board members must have earned 250 credits in the appropriate categories and submitted a portfolio that must have received at least a 25 out of 30 possible points from the award judges. The portfolio consists of: sample policies, references from colleagues, self-evaluation, presentations, advocacy and a written essay. 

Level V Master Board Members recognized at the TSBA annual convention were: 

Ron Ashe, Hardin County 

David Baker, Hardin County 

Allena Bell, Franklin Special 

Mike Bevins, Athens 

Sharon Brown, McMinn County 

Tyler Engle, Unicoi County 

Keys Fillauer, Oak Ridge 

Vic King, Roane County 

Coy Young, Rutherford County 


McMinn County School System | 3 South Hill St., Athens, TN 37303 | P: (423) 745-1612